Race Development Team

Commercial Building Energy Leadership Council

The Commercial Building Energy Leadership Council is a group of senior leaders committed to working together to make office buildings more energy efficient, to save energy and money while reducing overall carbon emissions and improving air quality. The Race to Reduce is one of the Leadership Council’s key projects.


CBRE Limited

Brad Henderson

Senior Managing Regional Director

TD Bank Group

Roger Johnson

Senior Vice President Enterprise Real Estate



Robert Struthers

Director, Strategic Asset Planning, Real Estate Services

BMO Financial Group

Jim Johnston

Director, Environmental Sustainability, Corporate Real Estate and Strategic Sourcing


Arnella Palumbo

Senior Director, Corporate Real Estate;

Monika Szponar

Senior Consultant

Cisco Systems Canada Co.

Rick Huijbregts

VP, Business Development

City of Toronto

Jim Baxter

Director, Energy and Strategic Initiatives

George Canetti

Project Manager, Better Buildings Partnership

Energy Services Association of Canada

Peter Love


Ministry of Government Services, OPS Green Office

Donna-Mae Robinson

Manager of Outreach and Stakeholder Engagement

Rogers Communications

Douglas Jeoffroy

Vice President, Corporate Real Estate;

Tony Basson

Director, Environment and Sustainability

Royal Bank of Canada

Nadeem Shabbar

VP, Corporate Real Estate;

Vanessa Perdue

Director, Operations and Vendor Strategy


Andrew Lennox

Senior Vice President, Real Estate;

David Morley

Vice President, Real Estate

Stikeman Elliott LLP

Jean McLeod

Chief Administrative Officer

Michelle Taylor

Director, Facilities & Office Services

Building Managers & Owners

Bentall Kennedy (Canada) LP

Keith Major

Senior Vice President, Property Management, Real Estate Services

Neil Lacheur

Vice President, Property Management

Brookfield Office Properties

Kristina Schwartz

Director, Operations and Sustainability

Cadillac Fairview

Scott Pennock

Senior Vice President and Portfolio Manager, Toronto Office Portfolio;

Steven Sorensen

Vice President Operations;

Karen Jalon

National Sustainability Director


Andy Robins

National Retail Development and Leasing;

Todd MacLachlan

Director, Technical Operations

First Capital Realty

Rosemary Martin

Chief Sustainability Officer

GWL Realty Advisors

Michele Walkau

Vice President, Corporate Resources & Marketing;

Robert Campanelli

National Director Sustainability & Energy

Infrastructure Ontario

Toni Rossi

Executive Vice President, Real Estate Management

Manulife Real Estate

Peter McDonald

Managing Director Operations;

Michael Ward

Property Director, Toronto Real Estate Office

Menkes Developments

Sonya Buikema

VP Commercial Property Management

Morguard Investments

Derek Billsman

Director Strategic Initiatives

Northam Realty Advisors

Richard Moore

Vice President Property Management

Oxford Properties Group Inc.

Andrew McAllan

Senior Vice President and Managing Director, Real Estate Management;

Lachlan MacQuarrie

Vice President, Real Estate Management, National Programs;

Darryl Neate

Manager, Sustainable Programs

Service Providers (Technical & Professional)


Joe Valente

Vice President Business Development

Brookfield Johnson Controls

Gordon Hicks


Cushman & Wakefield

Nancy Cohen

Vice President, Strategic Occupancy Planning

Educe Limited

Bob Gallant

Director of Business Development

Enbridge Gas Distribution

Zygmunt Strawczynski

Marketing Program Advisor


Ian Jarvis


MMM Group

Braden Kurczak

Division Head, Green Buildings Division


Doug Webber

Green Building Practice Leader

Jones Lang LaSalle

Barbara Ciesla

Senior Vice President, Occupier Strategies and Solutions

Toronto Hydro

Chris Tyrrell

Executive Vice-President and Chief Customer Care and Conservation Officer

Union Gas

Jackie Caille

Director Residential, Commercial Sales

Partner Organizations

BOMA Toronto

Susan Allan

President and Chief Staff Officer

Canada Green Building Council

Michael Parker

Board Director and Chair

Independent Electricity System Operator

Kyle O’Hearn

Marketing Manager, Business Markets;

Rob Edwards

Business Manager, Private Sector Conservation

Real Estate Search Corp

Iain Dobson



Michael Brooks


Toronto and Region Conservation Authority

Brian Denney


Working Group

This group of leaders has been the guiding force behind the Race to Reduce, and has helped make the Race what it is today.


Ian Jarvis, Enerlife Consulting

Lachlan MacQuarrie, Oxford Properties

Engagement Sub-Committee

Gillian Henderson, Enerlife Consulting (Lead)

Tony Basson, Rogers Communications

Julia Della Rosa, Zerofootprint

Michael Parker, CaGBC GTA Chapter

Mahtab Bhuiyan, Corporate Sponsorship Director, Schulich Net Impact

Ruth Weiner, RBC

Mark Halkias, Dundee REIT

Krystian Imgrund, GWLRA

Bala Gnanam, BOMA Toronto

Technical Sub-Committee

Ian Sinclair, University of Toronto (Lead)

Andres Bernal, Ellis Don

Tim Hewer, Brookfield

Darryl Neate, Oxford Properties

Participant Liaison Sub-Committee

Rob Edwards, Ontario Power Authority (Lead)

Victor Da Rosa, Toronto Hydro

Adrien Deveau, Independent

Rocky Mancini, Enbridge Gas

Rosemary Martin, First Capital Realty

Steve Sorensen, Cadillac Fairview

Legacy Sub-Committee

Peter Love, Energy Services Association of Canada (Lead)

Doug Webber, Halsall Associates Ltd.

Bernie McIntyre, Toronto and Region Conservation Authority

Nada Sutic, Bentall Kennedy

Communications Sub-Committee

Julie Matthews, Brookfield Johnson Controls (Lead)

Florence Gabriel, Toronto Hydro

Braden Kurczak, MMM Group Ltd.

Hilary Corneau, Brookfield Johnson Controls

Sarah Eadie, CBRE Limited

Pearl Lee, U of T, Environmental Studies and Human Geography

Awards Sub-Committee

Karen Jalon, Cadillac Fairview (Lead)

Bala Gnanam, BOMA Toronto

Andres Bernal, Ellis Don

Graham Takata, TD Bank Group

Scott Rouse, Energy @ Work